Computer Science Staff Lists

The departmental contacts in each area are listed below:

Departmental roles:

COMMUNICATIONS, NEWS, EVENTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS (Group email computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk)

Departmental Office, premises and facilities (Group email facilities@cs.ucl.ac.uk):
Facilities and Operations Manager - JJ Giwa-Majekodunmi j.giwa@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Office Administrator - Patricia Fenoy p.fenoy@ucl.ac.uk

HR and Staffing Enquiries (Group email computerscience.hr@ucl.ac.uk)
Senior Staffing Administrator - Christian Sana - computerscience.hr@ucl.ac.uk
HR Administrator – Yvonne Benjamin computerscience.hr@ucl.ac.uk

Finance Enquiries (Group email admin-finance@cs.ucl.ac.uk):
Departmental Finance Manager - Dawn Bailey dawn.bailey@ucl.ac.uk
Research Finance Manager - Olivier Delacroix o.delacroix@ucl.ac.uk
Finance Administrator - Wendy Richards w.richards@ucl.ac.uk 

Head of Technical Support Group:
Denis Timm d.timm@ucl.ac.uk
Head of Technical Support Group (TSG). The TSG looks after the department's computing facilities, including networks, hardware, software and IT developments.

Departmental Admin Manager:
Jill Saunders j.saunders@ucl.ac.uk
Head of Professional Services (Administration) team. The team deals with finance, HR, student support, premises, events and external relations, and administrative/management support for teaching and research.

Head of Department:
Professor John Shawe-Taylor j.shawe-taylor@ucl.ac.uk 
Senior executive manager responsible for the leadership, management and strategic direction of the Department.
(For diary enquiries please call 020 7679 3675 (ext 33675)

Deputy Heads of Department 
Professor Stephen Hailes s.hailes@ucl.ac.uk
Professor Yvonne Rogers y.rogers@ucl.ac.uk
Professor Anthony Steed a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and student-related roles

Teaching and Learning Manager

Nisha Gosai n.gosai@ucl.ac.uk

Management of teaching and student-related areas, including quality assurance, timetabling, curriculum management and assessment arrangements. Line manager to the Teaching and Learning Team:

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

QA / Projects

David Howells d.howells@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Machine Learning, MSc/MRes Computational Statistics and Machine Learning, and MSc Data Science and Machine Learning

Rebecca Martin rebecca.martin@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

BSc and MEng Computer Science, MEng Mathematical Computation, MEng CS International Programme and undergraduate affiliate students

Lydia O'Donoghue l.odonoghue@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Business Analytics, MSc/MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics

Samantha Bottomley s.bottomley@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Computer Graphics, Vision and Imaging, MSc Software Systems Engineering and MSc Financial Systems Engineering

Martin Nolan martin.nolan@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

Undergraduate programmes and Extenuating Circumstances

Gertrud Levit g.levit@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Computer Science

Sally Longley s.longley@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Computational Finance, MSc Information Security, MSc/MRes Robotics and Computation

Saini Manninen s.manninen@ucl.ac.uk

Postgraduate Administrator

MSc Financial Risk Management

Julia Melesko j.melesko@ucl.ac.uk (NB. Julia is a member of staff in the Department of Mathematics)

Senior Teaching Administrator

UCL Interaction Centre - MSc Human-Computer Interaction

Jo Pearson jo.pearson@ucl.ac.uk (reports to Louise Gaynor, UCLIC Manager)

Centre Manager, Financial Computing and Analytics

MRes Financial Computing

Yonita Carter y.carter@ucl.ac.uk

Centre Manager, Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation

MRes/EngD VEIV

Charlotte Penny charlotte.penny@ucl.ac.uk

Centre Manager, Complex

MRes Modelling Biological Complexity

Karen Brown k.a.brown@ucl.ac.uk

Departmental Tutor

Professor Alexandra Silva alexandra.silva@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for the organisation of teaching and learning in the department, leading on the development of the curriculum and coordinating teaching resources. Academic lead for major academic-related projects, such as accreditation of our programmes, Internal Quality Review (IQR), and the Annual Student Experience Review (ASER). Responsible for the communications and for the management of information relating to teaching across all programmes. Chair of the Departmental Teaching Committee. Full details are at https://www.ucl.ac.uk/srs/academic-manual/policy-az/responsibilities/departmental-tutors.

The DT is assisted by colleagues as detailed below:

Deputy Departmental Tutor
Dr Nic Marquardt n.marquardt@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for organisation of personal tutoring arrangements in the department and revising assessment/feedback practices.

Year Coordinators

Responsible for operational management of teaching and learning within designated year. Leads team of lecturers in that year. Responsible for the quality and coherence of teaching and key contributor to the development of the curriculum. Responsible for student advice, communications and for the management of information relating to teaching within the year. Responsible for the co-ordination smooth and even distribution of coursework to students of that year.

1st Year Coordinator
Dr James Brotherston j.brotherston@ucl.ac.uk

2nd Year Coordinator
Professor Jens Groth j.groth@ucl.ac.uk

3rd Year Coordinator
Professor Mark Handley ucacmha@ucl.ac.uk

4th Year Coordinator
Dr Graham Roberts graham.roberts@ucl.ac.uk

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Dr Catherine Holloway c.holloway@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for the departmental aspects of undergraduate student admissions including targets and entry standards and monitoring student performance with respect to the entry standards.

Tutor for affiliate and ancillary students

Dr Ilya Sergey affiliates@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for in-coming students from other departments and institutions studying in Computer Science, or on modules offered by the department. This includes registration processes and student advice, the management of information required by affiliate and ancillary students, and liaison with other departments and institutions as appropriate.

Study Abroad Tutor

Dr Earl Barr e.barr@ucl.ac.uk
Tutor for out-going students on the MEng Computer Science (International Programme). This includes registration processes and student advice, the management of information required by study abroad students, and liaison with partner institutions. Award Leader and responsible for the management and development of the MEng Computer Science (International Programme).

Chair, Undergraduate Board of Examiners

Dr John Dowell j.dowell@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Chair

Dr James Brotherston j.brotherston@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for the conduct and integrity of assessment and examinations for all undergraduate awards. Responsible for processes to prepare exam question papers for undergraduate exams. Responsible for the preparation and presentation of all assessment and examination results to the Undergraduate Board of Examiners. Chair of Undergraduate Board of Examiners. Deals with undergraduate exam irregularities and plagiarism cases.

Chairs of Postgraduate Boards of Examiners

Responsible for the conduct and integrity of assessment and examinations for MSc programmes. Responsible for processes to prepare exam question papers for MSc exams. Ensure coherence among the separate awards. Chair of the Exam Board meetings for each MSc programme. Deal with MSc exam irregularities and plagiarism cases.

Academic Coordinator for Master's Programmes

Professor Robin Hirsch r.hirsch@ucl.ac.uk
Oversight of the department's masters teaching, including periodic reviews, rationalisation of modules, leading new developments and ensuring co-ordination where necessary between our offerings.

Teaching Support Coordinator

Dr Gabriel Brostow g.brostow@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for managing teaching support across all programmes. Responsible for the effective running of teaching support work undertaken by research staff and PhD students. This includes maintaining current information about research staff teaching interests and abilities, organising appropriate training, allocating responsibilities in a fair and transparent way, and monitoring the running of the scheme. Liaises between research staff and academic staff to ensure that there is continuing professional development and appropriate engagement. Acts as a focal point for addressing any legitimate student concern

Projects Coordinator

Dr Graham Roberts graham.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for managing student projects (undergraduate and MSc CS), including arrangements for students to select/be assigned topics and supervisors, guidelines and procedures to be followed during the project, and assessment processes.

Financial Computing Projects and Internships Coordinator

Donald Lawrence d.lawrence@ucl.ac.uk
Liaison with financial institutions and organisation of finance-related student projects/internships

Women in CS Coordinator

Dr Zhaoping Li z.Li@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for initiatives to support and encourage women in computer science.

Programme Directors

Responsible for the programme(s) in their domain. Leads the team of lecturers with interests and/or teaching in that domain. Responsible for operational management of teaching and learning within that domain. Responsible for the quality and coherence of teaching and a key contributor to the development of the curriculum. Responsible for student advice, communications and for the management of information relating to teaching in that domain. Responsible for awards made (i.e. Award Leader for the appropriate specialist MSc award.) Advises the Postgraduate Examinations Co-ordinator on admissions to those awards.

MSc Business Analytics (with specialisation in Computer Science)

Dr Daniel Hulme d.hulme@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computational Finance

Dr Guido Germano g.germano@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computational Statistics and Machine Learning

Dr David Barber david.barber@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computer Graphics, Vision and Imaging

Professor Lourdes Agapito l.agapito@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computer Science

Dr Kevin Bryson k.bryson@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Data Science and Machine Learning

Dr David Barber david.barber@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Financial Risk Management

Dr Fabio Caccioli f.caccioli@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Information Security

Dr Emiliano De Cristofaro e.decristofaro@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Machine Learning

Dr Mark Herbster m.herbster@ucl.ac.uk

MSc/MRes Robotics and Computation

Dr Danail Stoyanov danail.stoyanov@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Software Systems Engineering and MSc Financial Systems Engineering

Dr Jens Krinke j.krinke@ucl.ac.uk

MSc/MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics

Professor Jun Wang jun.l.wang@ucl.ac.uk

MRes Financial Computing

Professor Philip Treleaven p.treleaven@ucl.ac.uk

MRes/EngD Virtual Environments, Imaging and Visualisation

Professor Anthony Steed a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Finance roles

Departmental Finance Manager:
Dawn Bailey dawn.bailey@ucl.ac.uk
All aspects of the department's financial management and budgets. Advice on financial arrangements and processes.

Research Finance Manager:
Olivier Delacroix o.delacroix@ucl.ac.uk 
All aspects of the department's financial management relating to research grants, contracts and consultancy. Advice on financial arrangements and processes.

Finance Administrator:
Wendy Richards W.Richards@ucl.ac.uk
Processing of financial transactions, including purchasing. Advice on financial arrangements and processes.

Research-related roles

Director of Research
Daniel Alexander d.alexander@ucl.ac.uk
A senior role within the Department. Responsible for the intellectual leadership, management and strategic direction of research within UCL Computer Science. Coordinates research resources. Responsible for the development and execution of the department's overall research strategy.

Heads of Research Groups:

Autonomous Systems - Steve Hailes s.hailes@ucl.ac.uk
Bioinformatics - David Jones d.t.jones@ucl.ac.uk
Financial Computing and Analytics - Tomaso Aste t.aste@ucl.ac.uk
Human-Centred Systems - Yvonne Rogers y.rogers@ucl.ac.uk
Intelligent Systems - Anthony Hunter anthony.hunter@ucl.ac.uk
Information Security George Danezis g.danezis@ucl.ac.uk
Media Futures - Ingemar Cox i.cox@ucl.ac.uk 
Systems and Networks - Brad Karp ucacbnk@ucl.ac.uk
Programming Principles, Logic and Verification
- David Pym - d.pym@ucl.ac.uk
Software Systems Engineering - Emmanuel Letier e.letier@ucl.ac.uk
Vision and Imaging Science - Simon Arridge - s.arridge@ucl.ac.uk
Virtual Environments & Computer Graphics - Anthony Steed - a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Industrial Collaboration and Outreach
Jane Butler jane.butler@ucl.ac.uk

Research Finance Manager
Olivier Delacroix o.delacroix@ucl.ac.uk 
Management of the department's research finances, including costings and submission of proposals for research grants and contracts.

Manager, Centre for Doctoral Training in Financial Computing and Analytics
Yonita Carter y.carter@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the Doctoral Training Centre and student administration for the Financial Computing MRes and PhD programmes.

Manager, Centre for Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation - Charlotte Penny charlotte.penny@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the VEIV Centre and student administration for the MRes and EngD programmes.

Manager, CoMPLEX (UCL Centre for Computation, Mathematics and Physics in the Life Sciences and Experimental Biology)
Karen Brown k.a.brown@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the CoMPLEX Centre and student administration for the MRes and EngD programmes.

Research Administrator
Sarah Turnbull cs.researchdegrees@ucl.ac.uk

Administrative support for all aspects of PhD programmes in the department, from admission to graduation. Secretary to the Department's Research Committee, and Departmental RPS (publications) administrator, supporting REF and Open Access processes. 

Research Administrator, DISTRO Project
Julia Savage j.savage@ucl.ac.uk

RISCS Centre Administrator
Emma Bowman e.bowman@ucl.ac.uk

Research Centre Administrator, CREST
Katie Bourke k.bourke@ucl.ac.uk


Graduate Tutor/Research Student Co-ordinator 
Anthony Hunter anthony.hunter@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for research student admissions. Takes a lead role in setting targets and entry standards. Responsible for monitoring research student progress and for the integrity of the processes leading to thesis submission and examination. Responsible for the quality of the 'learning experience' offered to research students. Coordinates skills training and seminar programmes for research students. Principal liaison with the Graduate School.

Deputy Graduate Tutor/Deputy Research Student Coordinator
Brad Karp ucacbnk@ucl.ac.uk

Director, Centre for Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation 
Anthony Steed a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Director, Centre for Doctoral Training in Financial Computing and Analytics
Philip Treleaven p.treleaven@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Director, Centre for Doctoral Training in Financial Computing and Analytics
Tomaso Aste t.aste@ucl.ac.uk

Consultant (Research Ethics and related areas)
Caroline Wardle c.wardle@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Organiser of the Scientific Integrity and Research Ethics seminar programme for computer science and engineering staff, supporting the "Concordat to Support Research Integrity". Evaluator (with HoD) of computer science applications to UCL's Research Ethics Committee.

 

 

Service-related roles

Head of Technical Support Group 
Denis Timm d.timm@ucl.ac.uk

Facilities and Operations Manager
JJ Giwa j.giwa@ucl.ac.uk

Departmental Office Administrator 
Patricia Fenoy p.fenoy@ucl.ac.uk

Office Manager, London Media Technology Campus (One Euston Square)
Lesa Bastien l.bastien@ucl.ac.uk


Director of Services:
(a) Premises: Dr Lewis Griffin l.griffin@ucl.ac.uk
(b) Technical Services: Professor David Jones d.t.jones@ucl.ac.uk
A senior role within the Department. Responsible for academic input relating to all infrastructure, technical services, support operations and premises. Leads the development of strategy supported by the professional staff in these areas. Coordinates resources in this area and advises the Head of Department on managerial matters relating to infrastructure, technical services, support operations and premises.

Environmental Responsibility Co-ordinator (Green Champion):
Denis Timm d.timm@ucl.ac.uk
Sets policy and standards for such issues as sustainable working eg recycling, disposal, energy use etc. Co-ordinates review of teaching and ensuring that relevant environmental and sustainability issues are taught to our students. 

External Relations roles

Communications, Marketing and Events

Marnie-Anne Snow computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk

Careers Tutor

Chris Clack c.clack@ucl.ac.uk

Advises students on careers, placements and internships. Circulates careers and placement information. Organises careers talks and receptions. Liaison with careers service. Develops and maintains the department's careers and internships web pages.

Alumni

Please contact the communications team at computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk

We are always keen to hear from our former CS students!

Publications and Marketing Coordinator

Please contact the communications team at computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk

Professional Societies Liaison (BCS and IET)

Denise Gorse ucacdgo@ucl.ac.uk

Key contact for professional societies and accreditation within the department (BCS and the IET.)Responsible for encouraging membership and engagement with professional societies among both staff and students.

Consultant (Research Ethics and related areas)

Caroline Wardle c.wardle@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Departmental contact for research ethics applications. Organiser of the annual London Hopper colloquium aimed at new researchers in computer science. Member of the BCS Academy Women in Research Group and primary liaison for the Karen Spärck Jones annual lecture.

Liaison with China

Shi Zhou s.zhou@ucl.ac.uk

Leads initiatives to develop links and collaborative work with China.

Support roles

 

DEOLOs (Departmental Equal Opportunities Liaison Officers:
JJ Giwa j.giwa@ucl.ac.uk
Graham Roberts graham.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
(Please see this link for more information about the DEOLO role)

Women in CS Coordinator: 
Zhaoping Li Z.Li@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for initiatives to support and encourage women in computer science.

First Aiders:
The following staff are trained First Aiders:
JJ Giwa j.giwa@ucl.ac.uk (66-72 Gower Street)
Patricia Fenoy p.fenoy@ucl.ac.uk (MPEB, 5th Floor Dept Office)

Departmental Safety Officer:
Dave Twisleton d.twisleton@ucl.ac.uk MPEB 4th Floor Room 4.18 ext 33667 

Academic Staff

Professional Services

Research Staff

Honorary Staff

Research Students

Full Alphabetical List