Computer Science Staff Lists

The departmental contacts in each area are listed below:

Departmental roles:

COMMUNICATIONS, NEWS, EVENTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS: computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk

Departmental Office, premises and facilities:  facilities@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Facilities and Operations Manager - Mark Jackson mark.jackson@ucl.ac.uk 
Departmental Office Administrator - Patricia Fenoy p.fenoy@ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Office Administrator - Christina Georgiou christina.georgiou@ucl.ac.uk

HR and Staffing Enquiries: Group email computerscience.hr@ucl.ac.uk
Staffing and Communications Manager - Colin Malley - computerscience.hr@ucl.ac.uk
Staffing Administrator - Yinka Adesina computerscience.hr@ucl.ac.uk

Finance Enquiries: Group email admin-finance@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Departmental Finance Manager - Dawn Bailey dawn.bailey@ucl.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Manager - Olivier Delacroix o.delacroix@ucl.ac.uk
Research Finance Manager - Charlotte Penny charlotte.penny@ucl.ac.uk
Finance Administrator - Wendy Richards w.richards@ucl.ac.uk 

Head of Technical Support Group:
Denis Timm d.timm@ucl.ac.uk
Head of Technical Support Group (TSG). TSG looks after the department's computing facilities, including networks, hardware, software and IT developments.

Departmental Manager:
Kim Patrick k.patrick@ucl.ac.uk 
Head of Professional Services (Administration) team. The team deals with finance, HR, student support, premises, events and external relations, and administrative/management support for teaching and research.

Head of Department:
Professor John Shawe-Taylor j.shawe-taylor@ucl.ac.uk 
Senior executive manager responsible for the leadership, management and strategic direction of the Department.

EA to HoD:
Catherine Campbell: catherine.campbell@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Heads of Department 
Professor Stephen Hailes s.hailes@ucl.ac.uk
Professor Yvonne Rogers y.rogers@ucl.ac.uk
Professor Anthony Steed a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and student-related roles

Teaching and Learning Manager

Nisha Gosai (n.gosai@ucl.ac.uk)

Line manager to the Teaching and Learning Team, management of teaching and student-related areas, including timetabling and resource management, teaching and learning support, administration of student records, and delivery of assessment.

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

Quality Assurance, Management and Enhancement, and Projects

David Howells (d.howells@ucl.ac.uk)

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator (PG)

All aspects of Programme Administration for: TBC

TBC (TBC)

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator (UG)

All aspects of Programme Administration for: BSc and MEng Computer Science, MEng Mathematical Computation, MEng CS International Programme and undergraduate affiliate students

Louisa Ball (louisa.ball@ucl.ac.uk)

Teaching and Learning Administrator

All aspects of Programme Administration for: MSc Machine Learning, MSc/MRes Computational Statistics and Machine Learning, and MSc Data Science and Machine Learning

Abena Adi (a.adi@ucl.ac.uk)

Teaching and Learning Administrator

All aspects of Programme Administration for: MSc Computer Science

Elizabeth Awad (elizabeth.awad@ucl.ac.uk)

Teaching and Learning Administrator

All aspects of Programme Administration for: MSc Business Analytics, MSc Information Security, MSc Machine Learning, MSc/MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics

Samantha Bottomley (s.bottomley@ucl.ac.uk)

Teaching and Learning Administrator

All aspects of Programme Administration for: MSc Computer Graphics, Vision and Imaging, MSc/MRes Robotics and Computation

Yasmin Nessa (y.nessa@ucl.ac.uk)

Teaching and Learning Administrator

All aspects of Programme Administration for: MSc Computational Finance, MSc Financial Risk Management, MSc Financial Systems Engineering, and MSc Software Systems Engineering

Martin Nolan (martin.nolan@ucl.ac.uk)

Teaching and Learning Administrator

All aspects of Programme Administration for: Undergraduate programmes, undergraduate affiliate students, and Extenuating Circumstances

TBC (TBC)

Senior Teaching Administrator

UCL Interaction Centre - MSc Human-Computer Interaction

Jo Pearson (jo.pearson@ucl.ac.uk) (reports to Louise Gaynor, UCLIC Manager)

Centre Manager, Financial Computing and Analytics

MRes Financial Computing

Yonita Carter (y.carter@ucl.ac.uk)

Centre Manager, Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation

MRes/EngD VEIV

Charlotte Penny (charlotte.penny@ucl.ac.uk)

Centre Manager, CoMPLEX

MRes Modelling Biological Complexity

Gemma Ludbrook (g.ludbrook@ucl.ac.uk)

Departmental Tutor

Professor Licia Capra (l.capra@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for the organisation of teaching and learning in the department, leading on the development of the curriculum and coordinating teaching resources. Academic lead for major academic-related projects, such as accreditation of our programmes, Internal Quality Review (IQR), and the Annual Student Experience Review (ASER). Responsible for the communications and for the management of information relating to teaching across all programmes. Chair of the Departmental Teaching Committee. Full details are at https://www.ucl.ac.uk/srs/academic-manual/policy-az/responsibilities/departmental-tutors.

The DT is assisted by colleagues as detailed below:

Deputy Departmental Tutor

Dr Nic Marquardt (n.marquardt@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for organisation of personal tutoring arrangements in the department and revising assessment/feedback practices.

Careers Tutor

Ilya Sergey (i.sergey@cs.ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for advising students on job opportunities after graduation. Organises the internship program of the CS department and events about career opportunities and related topics.

Year Coordinators

Responsible for operational management of teaching and learning within designated year. Leads team of lecturers in that year. Responsible for the quality and coherence of teaching and key contributor to the development of the curriculum. Responsible for student advice, communications and for the management of information relating to teaching within the year. Responsible for the co-ordination smooth and even distribution of coursework to students of that year.

1st Year Coordinator

Dr Kevin Bryson (K.Bryson@cs.ucl.ac.uk)

2nd Year Coordinator

Dr Simone Righi (S.Righi@cs.ucl.ac.uk)

3rd Year Coordinator

Professor Mark Handley (ucacmha@ucl.ac.uk)

4th Year Coordinator

Dr Graham Roberts (graham.roberts@ucl.ac.uk)

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Dr Catherine Holloway (c.holloway@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for the departmental aspects of undergraduate student admissions including targets and entry standards and monitoring student performance with respect to the entry standards.

Tutor for affiliate and ancillary students

Dr Chris Clack (cs.affiliates@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for in-coming students from other departments and institutions studying in Computer Science, or on modules offered by the department. This includes registration processes and student advice, the management of information required by affiliate and ancillary students, and liaison with other departments and institutions as appropriate.

Study Abroad Tutor

Dr Shi Zhou (s.zhou@ucl.ac.uk)

Tutor for out-going students on the MEng Computer Science (International Programme). This includes registration processes and student advice, the management of information required by study abroad students, and liaison with partner institutions. Award Leader and responsible for the management and development of the MEng Computer Science (International Programme).

Chair, Undergraduate Board of Examiners

Dr James Brotherston (j.brotherston@ucl.ac.uk)

Deputy Chair

Prof. Robin Hirsch (r.hirsch@cs.ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for the conduct and integrity of assessment and examinations for all undergraduate awards. Responsible for processes to prepare exam question papers for undergraduate exams. Responsible for the preparation and presentation of all assessment and examination results to the Undergraduate Board of Examiners. Chair of Undergraduate Board of Examiners. Deals with undergraduate exam irregularities and plagiarism cases.

Chairs of Postgraduate Boards of Examiners

Responsible for the conduct and integrity of assessment and examinations for MSc programmes. Responsible for processes to prepare exam question papers for MSc exams. Ensure coherence among the separate awards. Chair of the Exam Board meetings for each MSc programme. Deal with MSc exam irregularities and plagiarism cases.

Academic Coordinator for Master's Programmes

Professor Robin Hirsch (r.hirsch@ucl.ac.uk)

Oversight of the department's masters teaching, including periodic reviews, rationalisation of modules, leading new developments and ensuring co-ordination where necessary between our offerings.

Teaching Support Coordinator

Dr Tobias Ritschel (t.ritschel@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for managing teaching support across all programmes. Responsible for the effective running of teaching support work undertaken by research staff and PhD students. This includes maintaining current information about research staff teaching interests and abilities, organising appropriate training, allocating responsibilities in a fair and transparent way, and monitoring the running of the scheme. Liaises between research staff and academic staff to ensure that there is continuing professional development and appropriate engagement. Acts as a focal point for addressing any legitimate student concern

Coordinators of Athena Swan:

Ifat Yasin i.yasin@ucl.ac.uk
Ivana Drobnjak i.drobnjak@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for initiatives to support and encourage women in computer science.

Programme Directors

Responsible for the programme(s) in their domain. Leads the team of lecturers with interests and/or teaching in that domain. Responsible for operational management of teaching and learning within that domain. Responsible for the quality and coherence of teaching and a key contributor to the development of the curriculum. Responsible for student advice, communications and for the management of information relating to teaching in that domain. Responsible for awards made (i.e. Award Leader for the appropriate specialist MSc award.) Advises the Postgraduate Examinations Co-ordinator on admissions to those awards.

BSc/MEng Computer Science

Dr Earl Barr (e.barr@ucl.ac.uk)

MEng Mathematical Computation

Professor Robin Hirsch (r.hirsch@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Business Analytics (with specialisation in Computer Science)

Dr Daniel Hulme (d.hulme@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Computational Finance

Professor Guido Germano (g.germano@cs.ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Computational Statistics and Machine Learning

Professor David Barber (david.barber@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Computer Graphics, Vision and Imaging

Professor Lourdes Agapito (l.agapito@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Computer Science

Dr Federica Sarro (f.sarro@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Data Science and Machine Learning

Professor David Barber (david.barber@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Financial Risk Management

Dr Fabio Caccioli (f.caccioli@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Information Security

TBA

MSc Machine Learning

Dr Mark Herbster (m.herbster@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc/MRes Robotics and Computation

Dr Danail Stoyanov (danail.stoyanov@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc Software Systems Engineering and MSc Financial Systems Engineering

Dr Jens Krinke (j.krinke@ucl.ac.uk)

MSc/MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics

Professor Jun Wang (jun.l.wang@ucl.ac.uk)

MRes Financial Computing

Professor Philip Treleaven (p.treleaven@ucl.ac.uk)

MRes/EngD Virtual Environments, Imaging and Visualisation

Professor Anthony Steed (a.steed@ucl.ac.uk)

Finance roles

Departmental Finance Manager:
Dawn Bailey dawn.bailey@ucl.ac.uk
All aspects of the department's financial management and budgets. Advice on financial arrangements and processes.

Research Finance Manager:
Olivier Delacroix o.delacroix@ucl.ac.uk 
All aspects of the department's financial management relating to research grants, contracts and consultancy. Advice on financial arrangements and processes.

Finance Administrator:
Wendy Richards W.Richards@ucl.ac.uk
Processing of financial transactions, including purchasing. Advice on financial arrangements and processes.

Research-related roles

Director of Research
Simon Arridge s.arridge@ucl.ac.uk 
A senior role within the Department. Responsible for the intellectual leadership, management and strategic direction of research within UCL Computer Science. Coordinates research resources. Responsible for the development and execution of the department's overall research strategy.

Heads of Research Groups:

Autonomous Systems - Steve Hailes s.hailes@ucl.ac.uk
Bioinformatics - David Jones d.t.jones@ucl.ac.uk
Financial Computing and Analytics - Tomaso Aste t.aste@ucl.ac.uk
Human-Centred Systems - Yvonne Rogers y.rogers@ucl.ac.uk
Intelligent Systems - Anthony Hunter anthony.hunter@ucl.ac.uk
Information Security Emiliano De Cristofaro E.DeCristofaro@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Media Futures - Ingemar Cox i.cox@ucl.ac.uk 
Systems and Networks - Brad Karp ucacbnk@ucl.ac.uk
Programming Principles, Logic and Verification - David Pym - d.pym@ucl.ac.uk
Software Systems Engineering - Emmanuel Letier e.letier@ucl.ac.uk
Vision and Imaging Science - Lourdes De Agapito Vicente l.agapito@ucl.ac.uk
Virtual Environments & Computer Graphics - Anthony Steed - a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Strategic Alliances Director
Graca Carvalho graca.carvalho@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Research Finance Manager
Olivier Delacroix o.delacroix@ucl.ac.uk
Research Finance Manager
Charlotte Penny charlotte.penny@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the department's research finances, including costings and submission of proposals for research grants and contracts.

Manager, Centre for Doctoral Training in Financial Computing and Analytics
Yonita Carter y.carter@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the Doctoral Training Centre and student administration for the Financial Computing MRes and PhD programmes.

Manager, Centre for Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation - Charlotte Penny charlotte.penny@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the VEIV Centre and student administration for the MRes and EngD programmes.

Manager, CoMPLEX (UCL Centre for Computation, Mathematics and Physics in the Life Sciences and Experimental Biology)
Belen Altozano b.altozano@ucl.ac.uk
Management of the CoMPLEX Centre and student administration for the MRes and PhD programmes.

Research Administrator
Sarah Turnbull s.turnbull@ucl.ac.uk

Administrative support for all aspects of PhD programmes in the department, from admission to graduation. Secretary to the Department's Research Committee, and Departmental RPS (publications) administrator, supporting REF and Open Access processes. 

Research Administrator, DISTRO Project
Julia Savage j.savage@ucl.ac.uk

RISCS Centre Administrator
Emma Bowman e.bowman@ucl.ac.uk

Research Centre Administrator, CREST
Katie Bourke k.bourke@ucl.ac.uk


Graduate Tutor/Research Student Co-ordinator 
Anthony Hunter anthony.hunter@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for research student admissions. Takes a lead role in setting targets and entry standards. Responsible for monitoring research student progress and for the integrity of the processes leading to thesis submission and examination. Responsible for the quality of the 'learning experience' offered to research students. Coordinates skills training and seminar programmes for research students. Principal liaison with the Graduate School.

Deputy Graduate Tutor/Deputy Research Student Coordinator
Brad Karp ucacbnk@ucl.ac.uk

Director, Centre for Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation 
Anthony Steed a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Director, Centre for Doctoral Training in Financial Computing and Analytics
Philip Treleaven p.treleaven@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Director, Centre for Doctoral Training in Financial Computing and Analytics
Tomaso Aste t.aste@ucl.ac.uk

Consultant (Research Ethics and related areas)
Caroline Wardle c.wardle@cs.ucl.ac.uk
Organiser of the Scientific Integrity and Research Ethics seminar programme for computer science and engineering staff, supporting the "Concordat to Support Research Integrity". Evaluator (with HoD) of computer science applications to UCL's Research Ethics Committee.

 

 

Service-related roles

Head of Technical Support Group
Denis Timm d.timm@ucl.ac.uk

Staffing and Facilities Manager
Victoria Cooper v.cooper@ucl.ac.uk

Departmental Office Administrator 
Patricia Fenoy p.fenoy@ucl.ac.uk

Director of Services:

(a) Premises: Dr Lewis Griffin l.griffin@ucl.ac.uk
(b) Technical Services: Professor David Jones d.t.jones@ucl.ac.uk
A senior role within the Department. Responsible for academic input relating to all infrastructure, technical services, support operations and premises. Leads the development of strategy supported by the professional staff in these areas. Coordinates resources in this area and advises the Head of Department on managerial matters relating to infrastructure, technical services, support operations and premises.

Environmental Responsibility Co-ordinator (Green Champion):
Denis Timm d.timm@ucl.ac.uk
Sets policy and standards for such issues as sustainable working eg recycling, disposal, energy use etc. Co-ordinates review of teaching and ensuring that relevant environmental and sustainability issues are taught to our students. 

External Relations roles

Communications, Marketing and Events

computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk

Careers Tutor

Dr Ilya Sergey i.sergey@ucl.ac.uk

Advises students on careers, placements and internships. Circulates careers and placement information. Organises careers talks and receptions. Liaison with careers service. Develops and maintains the department's careers and internships web pages.

Alumni

Please contact the communications team at computerscience.comms@ucl.ac.uk

We are always keen to talk to our graduates!

Strategic Alliances Director

Graca Carvalho - graca.carvalho@ucl.ac.uk

Professional Societies Liaison (BCS and IET)

Denise Gorse ucacdgo@ucl.ac.uk

Key contact for professional societies and accreditation within the department (BCS and the IET.)Responsible for encouraging membership and engagement with professional societies among both staff and students.

Consultant (Research Ethics and related areas)

Caroline Wardle c.wardle@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Departmental contact for research ethics applications. Organiser of the annual London Hopper colloquium aimed at new researchers in computer science. Member of the BCS Academy Women in Research Group and primary liaison for the Karen Spärck Jones annual lecture.

Liaison with China

Shi Zhou s.zhou@ucl.ac.uk

Leads initiatives to develop links and collaborative work with China.

Support roles

Inclusion Leads:
Graham Roberts graham.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
Sarah Turnbull s.turnbull@ucl.ac.uk
(Please see this link for more information about the Inclusion Lead/DEOLO role)

Coordinators of Athena Swan:
Ifat Yasin i.yasin@ucl.ac.uk
Ivana Drobnjak i.drobnjak@ucl.ac.uk
Responsible for initiatives to support and encourage women in computer science.

First Aiders:
The following staff are trained First Aiders:
Patricia Fenoy p.fenoy@ucl.ac.uk 

Departmental Safety Officer:
Dave Twisleton d.twisleton@ucl.ac.uk MPEB 4th Floor Room 4.18 ext 33667

Academic Staff

Professional Services

Research Staff

Honorary Staff

Research Students

Full Alphabetical List