3rd UCL Conference on Theory of Big Data

UCL Contact: Steve Marchant (Visitors from outside UCL please email in advance).
Date/Time: 26 Jun 17 (start 09:00) - 28 Jun 17
Venue: UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
Further Information:

For more information, and to register, please visit http://www.ucl.ac.uk/bigdata-theory/.

Please forward this message to any colleagues who may be interested in attending.

See also http://www.ucl.ac.uk/bigdata-theory/


Workshop description:

Big Data has become ubiquitous in modern society, but drawing insights from it remains a challenge due to its unprecedented degrees of heterogeneity, often compounded by inadequate experimental design. The past decade has seen considerable developments with big data algorithms, but significant challenges remain for the area’s theoretical underpinning.

The aim of this workshop is to gather experts who develop theory and methodology for big data sets; i.e. scientists who construct new algorithms, but also develop theoretical understanding as to the analysis techniques that are optimal or preferable in different sampling scenarios. The workshop will feature research into computational and statistical efficiency trade-offs, high-dimensional dependency structures (such as spatiotemporal models), as well as high-dimensional estimation and learning, and privacy-preserving algorithms.

The tentative schedule is now available – talk titles and abstracts will be added over coming weeks. Registration costs £50 and includes access to all talks and sessions during the three days of the conference, plus lunch and daytime refreshments. The second day (27th June) includes an embedded session co-organised by the Turing Gateway to Mathematics on Data Sharing & Governance.

Confirmed conference speakers include:

Louis Aslett (Durham)

Heather Battey (Imperial College London)

Emiliano de Cristofaro (UCL)

Arnak Dalalayan (ENSAE ParisTech)

Charlotte Deane (Oxford)

Christos Dimitrakakis (Chalmers University, Sweden & University of Lille, France)

Arthur Gretton (UCL)

David Hand (Imperial College London)

Peter Hoff (Duke University)

Farinaz Koushanfar (University of California, San Diego)

Lieven de Lauthauwer (Université Catholique de Louvain)

Lek-Heng Lim (University of Chicago)

Dr Jason McEwen (UCL)

Guy Nason (Bristol University)

Marten Wegkamp (Cornell University)

Ming Yuan (Wisconsin-Madison)

Tian Zheng (Columbia University)