Academic Representatives

Academic Representatives work with our staff to represent your views, provide feedback, resolve problems students are experiencing, and improve the quality of your education. There are different types of representatives that do slightly different jobs:

  • Course Representatives represent students on a taught programmes (these are elected by students at the start of the year);
  • Research Student Representatives represent groups of postgraduate research students;
  • Lead Department Representatives lead on representation for Computer Science and chair the Staff Student Consultative Committee (they are elected by the Student Academic Representation Steering Group);
  • Faculty Representatives represent students at the Faculty level by working closely with the Lead Department Representatives to find out what is happening in each department.

Course Representatives for 2017/18

Elections for Course Representatives will take place early in Term 1 for 2018/19; details will be updated following successful election.

Programme Year/s of study Representative
BSc/ MEng 1

Terry Williams terry.williams.17@ucl.ac.uk

Shun Shao shun.shao.17@ucl.ac.uk

Oliver Vecchini oliver.vecchini.17@ucl.ac.uk

BSc/ MEng 2

Iustin Targovet iustin.targovet.16@ucl.ac.uk

Andrei Margeloiu andrei.margeloiu.16@ucl.ac.uk

Adris Khan adris.khan.16@ucl.ac.uk

BSc/ MEng 3

Jaromir Latal jaromir.latal.15@ucl.ac.uk

Christopher Hammond christopher.hammond.15@ucl.ac.uk

Hussein Elbendak hussein.abdellatif.15@ucl.ac.uk

MEng 4

Minttu Alakuijala minttu.alakuijala.14@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Business Analytics (with specialisation in Computer Science) 1

Jorge Alarcon Diaz jorge.diaz.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computational Finance 1

Sayed Tevakol sayed.tevakol.13@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computer Graphics, Vision, and Imaging 1

Mohamed Abdelfattah Syed mohamed.sayed.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computer Science 1

Claudia Vanea claudia.vanea.14@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computational Statistics and Machine Learning 1

Meenakshi Parameshwaran meenakshi.parameshwaran.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Data Science and Machine Learning 1

Alex Cowen-Rivers a.cowen-rivers.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Financial Risk Management 1

Diana Pop diana.pop.17@ucl.ac.uk

Thomas Calcagni thomas.calcagni.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Financial Systems Engineering 1

George Ndungu george.ndungu.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Information Security 1, 2

Peter Barta peter.barta.17@ucl.ac.uk

Kishan Rawal kishan.rawal.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Machine Learning 1

Helene Bohler helene.bohler.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Robotics and Computation 1

Juri Brolih juri.brolih.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Software Systems Engineering 1

Abdul-Qadir Ali abdul-qadir.ali.17@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Web Science and Big Data Analytics 1

Shihao Zou shihao.zou.17@ucl.ac.uk

MRes Computational Statistics and Machine Learning 1

Meenakshi Parameshwaran meenakshi.parameshwaran.17@ucl.ac.uk

MRes Financial Computing 1

Leo Carlos-Sandberg leo.carlos-sandberg.16@ucl.ac.uk

MRes Robotics 1

Juri Brolih juri.brolih.17@ucl.ac.uk

MRes Virtual Reality 1

Qifan Shul qifan.shu.17@ucl.ac.uk

MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics 1

Shihao Zou shihao.zou.17@ucl.ac.uk

Research students 1, 2

Lewis Moffat lewis.moffat.13@ucl.ac.uk

Research students 3, 4 No reps have come forward

Unitu - Student Voice Platform

Unitu is a tool that enables you to raise issues, ideads and other matters for discussion with your peers and Academic Representatives; to vote on whether issues should be raised to the department; and feed back to the department on any actions we take in response to issues raised. As a Computer Science student, you will be automatically enrolled into two groups within Unitu: one for the department as a whole and one for your programme of study; you will be able to create, discuss, and vote on issues in both areas.


Staff Student Consultative Committee (SSCC)

The Computer Science Staff Student Consulative Committee provides students with a standing forum to feed back to lecturers and departmental administrators about issues that have impacted on programmes and modules. These may include good or bad ways in which lectures, tutorials, labs etc. have been delivered which can be addressed by us, or they may include university-wide issues such as library or computing facilities, or even noise caused by building works. We take these comments very seriously, and the minutes of the SSCC meetings are considered by the UCL Student Experience Committee.

Issues raised via Unitu feed into the agenda for SSCC meetings; this is a good way to gauge the sort of issues and ideas students have raised, and the actions the department has taken to address them.

The department's Staff-Student Consultative Committee meets three times a year.


Departmental Teaching Committee (DTC)

The Departmental Teaching Committee has a wide remit, which includes: development and review of departmental QME processes and mechanisms; development of programmes/ modules; review and approval of academic partnerships; to produce the Departmental Summary for the Annual Student Experience Review reports; to receive and consider the Department’s IQR report (a substantial quality review report); to recieve summaries of programme and module feedback; to recieve the minutes of the Staff Student Consultative Committee and, where necessary, take action in relation to matters airsing; and to teport to the Head of Department and Faculty Teaching Committee.

The DTC meets at least once each term. The Lead Department Representative is a member of the Committee, who is invited to attend every meeting; Course Representatives may also be invited to attend.


Faculty Teaching Committee (FTC)

The department's Departmental Teaching Committee reports to the Faculty Teaching Committee, which provides governance and support to the way in which the departments is managed.

The FTC meets termly. The Faculty Representative is a member of the Committee, who is invited to attend every meeting; Departmental and Course Representatives may also be invited to attend.