Teaching and student-related roles

Teaching and Learning Manager

Nisha Gosai n.gosai@ucl.ac.uk

Management of teaching and student-related areas, including quality assurance, timetabling, curriculum management and assessment arrangements. Line manager to the Teaching and Learning Team:

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

QA / Projects

David Howells d.howells@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Machine Learning, MSc/MRes Computational Statistics and Machine Learning, and MSc Data Science and Machine Learning

Rebecca Martin rebecca.martin@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator

BSc and MEng Computer Science, MEng Mathematical Computation, MEng CS International Programme and undergraduate affiliate students

Lydia O'Donoghue l.odonoghue@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Business Analytics, MSc/MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics

Samantha Bottomley s.bottomley@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Computer Graphics, Vision and Imaging, MSc Software Systems Engineering and MSc Financial Systems Engineering

Martin Nolan martin.nolan@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

Undergraduate programmes and Extenuating Circumstances

Gertrud Levit g.levit@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Computer Science

Sally Longley s.longley@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching and Learning Administrator

MSc Computational Finance, MSc Information Security, MSc/MRes Robotics and Computation

Saini Manninen s.manninen@ucl.ac.uk

Postgraduate Administrator

MSc Financial Risk Management

Julia Melesko martin.nolan@ucl.ac.uk (NB. Julia is a member of staff in the Department of Mathematics)

Senior Teaching Administrator

UCL Interaction Centre - MSc Human-Computer Interaction

Jo Pearson jo.pearson@ucl.ac.uk (reports to Louise Gaynor, UCLIC Manager)

Centre Manager, Financial Computing and Analytics

MRes Financial Computing

Yonita Carter y.carter@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Centre Manager, Virtual Environments, Interaction and Visualisation

MRes/EngD VEIV

Charlotte Penny c.penny@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Centre Manager, Complex

MRes Modelling Biological Complexity

Gemma Ludbrook g.ludbrook@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Director of Studies

Dr Alexandra Silva alexandra.silva@cs.ucl.ac.uk

This role is under review. The Director of Studies team is responsible for the organisation of teaching and learning in the department. The DoS team leads the development of the curriculum and coordinates teaching resources. The team members act as academic leads for major academic-related projects, such as accreditation of our programmes, Internal Quality Review (IQR), and the Annual Student Experience Review (ASER). They are responsible for the communications and for the management of information relating to teaching across all programmes. The Director of Studies is also Chair of the Departmental Teaching Committee.

Year Coordinators

Responsible for operational management of teaching and learning within designated year. Leads team of lecturers in that year. Responsible for the quality and coherence of teaching and key contributor to the development of the curriculum. Responsible for student advice, communications and for the management of information relating to teaching within the year. Responsible for the tutorial programme in the designated year. Responsible for registration of all of that years' students. Responsible for the co-ordination smooth and even distribution of coursework to students of that year. 3rd year coordinator is BSc Computer Science Award Leader. 4th year coordinator is MEng Computer Science Award Leader.

1st Year Coordinator

TBC TBC

2nd Year Coordinator

TBC TBC

3rd Year Coordinator

Professor Mark Handley ucacmha@ucl.ac.uk

4th Year Coordinator

TBC TBC

Departmental Tutor

Dr Graham Roberts g.roberts@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Responsible for undergraduate student welfare and the overall 'learning experience' of undergraduate students. Responsible for undergraduate students with disabilities and special needs.

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Dr Cathy Holloway c.holloway@ucl.ac.uk

Responsible for the departmental aspects of undergraduate student admissions including targets and entry standards and monitoring student performance with respect to the entry standards.

Tutor for affiliate and ancillary students

Dr Ilya Sergey affiliates@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Tutor for in-coming students from other departments and institutions studying in Computer Science, or on modules offered by the department. This includes registration processes and student advice, the management of information required by affiliate and ancillary students, and liaison with other departments and institutions as appropriate.

Study Abroad Tutor

Earl Barr e.barr@ucl.ac.uk

Tutor for out-going students on the MEng Computer Science (International Programme). This includes registration processes and student advice, the management of information required by study abroad students, and liaison with partner institutions. Award Leader and responsible for the management and development of the MEng Computer Science (International Programme).

Undergraduate Examinations Coordinator

John Dowell j.dowell@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Chair

Dr James Brotherston j.brotherston@ucl.ac.uk)

Responsible for the conduct and integrity of assessment and examinations for all undergraduate awards. Responsible for processes to prepare exam question papers for undergraduate exams. Responsible for the preparation and presentation of all assessment and examination results to the Undergraduate Board of Examiners. Chair of Undergraduate Board of Examiners. Deals with undergraduate exam irregularities and plagiarism cases.

Chairs of Postgraduate Boards of Examiners

Responsible for the conduct and integrity of assessment and examinations for MSc programmes. Responsible for processes to prepare exam question papers for MSc exams. Ensure coherence among the separate awards. Chair of the Exam Board meetings for each MSc programme. Deal with MSc exam irregularities and plagiarism cases.

Academic Co-ordinator for Master's Programmes

Robin Hirsch r.hirsch@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Oversight of the department's masters teaching, including periodic reviews, rationalisation of modules, leading new developments and ensuring co-ordination where necessary between our offerings.

Teaching Support Coordinator

Gabriel Brostow g.brostow@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Responsible for managing teaching support across all programmes. Responsible for the effective running of teaching support work undertaken by research staff and PhD students. This includes maintaining current information about research staff teaching interests and abilities, organising appropriate training, allocating responsibilities in a fair and transparent way, and monitoring the running of the scheme. Liaises between research staff and academic staff to ensure that there is continuing professional development and appropriate engagement. Acts as a focal point for addressing any legitimate student concerns.

Projects Coordinator

Graham Roberts g.roberts@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Responsible for managing student projects (undergraduate and MSc CS), including arrangements for students to select/be assigned topics and supervisors, guidelines and procedures to be followed during the project, and assessment processes.

Programme Directors

Responsible for the programme(s) in their domain. Leads the team of lecturers with interests and/or teaching in that domain. Responsible for operational management of teaching and learning within that domain. Responsible for the quality and coherence of teaching and a key contributor to the development of the curriculum. Responsible for student advice, communications and for the management of information relating to teaching in that domain. Responsible for awards made (i.e. Award Leader for the appropriate specialist MSc award.) Advises the Postgraduate Examinations Co-ordinator on admissions to those awards.

MSc Business Analytics (with specialisation in Computer Science)

Daniel Hulme d.hulme@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computational Statistics and Machine Learning

David Barber d.barber@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computer Graphics, Vision and Imaging

Lourdes Agapito l.agapito@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computer Science

Kevin Bryson k.bryson@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Computational Finance

Guido Germano g.germano@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Data Science and Machine Learning

David Barber david.barber@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Financial Risk Management

Fabio Caccioli f.caccioli@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc Information Security

Emiliano De Cristofaro e.decristofaro@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Machine Learning

Mark Herbster m.herbster@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MSc/MRes Robotics and Computation

Danail Stoyanov danail.stoyanov@ucl.ac.uk

MSc Software Systems Engineering and MSc Financial Systems Engineering

Jens Krinke j.krinke@ucl.ac.uk

MSc/MRes Web Science and Big Data Analytics

Jun Wang j.wang@cs.ucl.ac.uk

MRes/EngD Virtual Environments, Imaging and Visualisation

Anthony Steed a.steed@ucl.ac.uk

Financial Computing projects and internships

Donald Lawrence d.lawrence@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Liaison with financial institutions and organisation of finance-related student projects/internships.

Women in CS Coordinator

Zhaoping LiZhaoping.Li@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Responsible for initiatives to support and encourage women in computer science.